From Readers On Amazon


​★★★★★ Great historical fiction of post civil war financial America., November 19, 2013

By T Curry

This review is from: The Golden Pinnacle (Kindle Edition)

Takes place from the civil war to world war I. Follows the life of Daniel Durand, an orphan with no birthday and a last name from who knows where as he builds a life and legacy from nothing. An excellent view of the development of the capitalist system. Good character development, with highly developed writing. Very easy to read. Interesting well researched historical perspective on money, banking, and American politics couched in a great story of the Durand family men and women as they make their way.


✭✭✭✭✭ This is a historical novel that speaks to our country's times, and the reason why we are where we are as a nation....December 5, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Golden Pinnacle (Kindle Edition)
I liked this book very much while I was reading it, but I can now appreciate it, and the author's expertise, even more after finishing it. Overall, I think it is a very good effort which gives the reader a better, and broader understanding of a period of time in our nation's history that is not often dealt with within the historical novel genre. The saga of this family is enough to hold the reader's interest, but the real value lies within the final chapters as the author leads the reader to understand the realities of our country's financial and political turmoil is in fact rooted within the historical context of The Golden Pinnacle. I look forward to reading more of Mr. Gore's works.


✭✭✭✭✭THE GOLDEN PINNACLE will leave you wondering.
By Stephen Stark on November 26, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
​Gore's second effort, THE GOLDEN PINNACLE, truly showcases his skill as a master storyteller. His work of historical fiction will leave you feeling as if you are actually reading an untold part of American history. Set during the Industrial Revolution, you will be introduced to Daniel Durand as a private in the Civil War and follow him as he becomes one of the most powerful Wall Street financiers. I was left with the feeling that Durand actually was a contemporary of Rockefeller and Morgan. As Durand's beautiful wife Eleanor remarked, "The age was marked by an intoxicating spirit of unfettered freedom, unlimited possibilities, unbounded confidence, and buoyant optimism." Gore's work offers the reader a glimpse into true unadulterated American freedom.


✭✭✭✭✭  Could hardly put it down; a great, great book!

By Catherine P. Bird on December 24, 2013
Format: Paperback
This second book of Robert Gore's is even better than his first! He totally engages his reader in this fascinating story. It is a wonderful tale of a self made man who grows from a Civil War solider to a business and family man. This sequence of events is recounted during a very interesting and not well understood time in the history of the United States. I would strongly
recommend this book!
 ​​
✮✮✮✮✮A great, absorbing epic of a family and an American financial era. Strongly recommended.
By Billie Jean Wine on January 1, 2014
Format: Paperback
This book engaged my interest immediately. It is difficult to find novels of this scope in today's market. and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. The characters were beautifully drawn and developed and they will stay with me for a long time.I do not hesitate to recommend it highly.


​✮✮✮✮✮  Page Turner

By Edwina Feeney on January 7, 2014

Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: The Golden Pinnacle (Kindle Edition)

Recommending this book to all friends. Check out Billie Jean Wine's review....she speaks for me too. Thank you Robert for a fascinating and informative read. Cheers to your success.


✮✮✮✮✮ Fiction - but closer to the way it actually was than most common histories

By Mark Steele (PA USA) on January 8, 2014

Amazon Verified Purchase
​This review is from: The Golden Pinnacle (Kindle Edition)

Awesome book. I finished it New Years Day. It reminded me of a genre I used to read a lot more in which authors covered the lifespans of individuals (like Kane and Abel by Jeffrey Archer). Well written. Excellent presentation of ideas. Good build up of suspense even though I wondered if there would be much suspense after learning the main "secret" early in the book. Heroes (and villains) of Rand-esque proportions. Fiction yes - but it depicts the story of how the US economy and quality of life in the late 19th century saw the most rapid progress in human history on the shoulders of honest entrepreneurs. It shows how dishonest entrepreneurs who chose to compete using government as a competitive advantage partly stifled this growth, and how, by WW1, those who cherished power over liberty were beginning to put the brakes on that progress (ironically under the title of progressivism) by implementing programs of centralized control.


✮✮✮✮✮  Fascinating, Thought Provoking Tale

By Dale B. Halling "DK Halling" on January 14, 2014

Amazon Verified Purchase
​This review is from: The Golden Pinnacle (Kindle Edition)
The Golden Pinnacle is an epic novel similar to Hawaii, The Thorn Birds, and Little Big Man that spans between the Civil War and the end of the WWI. Like Little Big Man we meet a number of historical characters, but the way they are portrayed may surprise you. The author ties all the parts of the grand story together seamlessly. The characters are well developed and fascinating, the author writes with equal skill about war, love, business, family, etc., all the while giving you a though provoking look at unique time in US history. I highly recommend this book.

DK Halling
​Author of Pendulum of Justice


★★★★★ A truely great read
By bill turner - See all my reviews, January, 20, 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase (What's this?)
This review is from: The Golden Pinnacle (Kindle Edition) The Golden Pinnacle was absolutely riveting. I looked forward each day to getting back to reading it and following the saga of Daniel Durnad, his life adventure, his assenting from meager beginnings to iconic status, with the trials and tribulations that he encountered. I love historical fiction and Bob Gore has certainly done a great job of weaving the Durand story into the industrial revolution. The novel flows so well and I sincerely hope that there will be more from Robert Gore, the sooner, and the more, the better. I have told innumerable friends about The Golden Pinnacle and will recommend it to many more.

★★★★★ Extraordinary! 
By VWPuck67 (New Milford, CT, US) - See all my reviews January 29, 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase (What's this?)This review is from: The Golden Pinnacle (Kindle Edition)
I just finished the final chapter, and found myself moved to tears. The author, Robert Gore, takes the reader through the life of protagonist, capitalist and tragic hero Daniel Durand, from the Civil War to the demise of the freedoms this country was founded on.It sheds light on a chapter of history, the industrial "revolution", during which inventors, visionaries, and men with ideas, propelled this country, and ultimately the world forward into an age of unprecedented prosperity and innovation. Their ability to reap the benefits of that effort, through the reinvestment of capital back into their businesses, to reward the men and women who used their minds, not pull or cronyism, to achieve that success was what the founders of this great nation envisioned.

But, that was not to last. The avaricious quest for power, which was the tragic flaw of Daniel Durand's first born, Will, came at the cost of his integrity, at the cost of his family. He was so caught up in his image and how he wanted to be perceived, that he became a second hander. One who only dervies his value from others, not from any sense of self worth. He ran from his own awareness that his choices were dishonest, and corrupt. Ultimately, a terrible tragedy of his making was what opened his eyes. This is the root of what has brought the United States to its knees. The illicit back room deals that do nothing but line the pockets of so called lawmakers, and crush the entrepreneurs, the visionaries, those who are the true backbone of the economy.

It's a clarion call to the American public to wake up from the stupor that the government fosters by its claims that it's up to the government to take care of us, that we are to sacrifice all for the "greater good", that safety nets are a given. Why try when kids know from the outset that there are no real consequences for failure? They're not allowed to fail, they are not accountable for their actions. No one is allowed to fail, thus no one is allowed to succeed. It's a suspect character flaw to want to do so.

​This is a MUST READ for all who wonder what happened to the unflinching American spirit that sparked a revolution, first to break with a despotic monarchy, and then to create wealth and industry such as never had been seen before, or since. Let it inspire you as it did me.

​★★★★★ A grand historical read that was thoroughly engrossing!

By Kelly Wine - See all my reviews February 2, 2014
This review is from: The Golden Pinnacle (Paperback)


I highly recommend this book. Robert Gore did an excellent job in character development and historical research, spanning the Civil War through the Industrial Revolution up to World War I. He follows the life of Daniel Durand as he rises from no earthly means into a powerful financier in the course of 58 years, introducing the likes of John Rockefeller, John Pierpont Morgan and Theodore Roosevelt, among others. The substantial 786 pages of intrigue, love, loss, secrets, back-stabbing, wars, and business were so fascinating, that I hated to put it down. This is an intelligent and entertaining read from Mr. Gore.


★★★★★ The untold story of the Industrial Revolution, capitalism and men of vision and integrity
By bassplayer - See all my reviews March 18, 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)This review is from: The Golden Pinnacle (Paperback)
​A fascinating and engaging tale that weaves historical figures and events seamlessly into the life of Daniel Durand, an orphan and self-made man who throughout his life shows the strength of character and initiative to meet challenges head on with honesty and integrity. The book is a wonderful example of capitalism and how it works as Durand invests with and capitalizes the businesses of Rockefeller, E. H. Harriman and other titans of industry as they build the greatest economic system in the world during the Industrial Revolution. It is also a cautionary tale of what happens to that system when the power-lust of some individuals and government intervention for 'the public good', is how we ended up where we are today. A favorite line from Durand, “the truth doesn't unravel” is very powerful.


​★★★★★ Epic Financial history, April 14, 2014

By George C. - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase (What's this?)
This review is from: The Golden Pinnacle (Kindle Edition)
An epic family history story from the Civil War to early 1900's, in particular the growth of our first "industrialists'/financiers' and the banks, brokerage and stock markets interactions of the time.. Including the beginnings of the many policies that plague us in the governance and politics of today.


​★★★★★Excellent book! Any freedom loving person will enjoy., June 3, 2014


By Ed Weaver - See all my reviews

Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Golden Pinnacle (Paperback)
I could hardly put this book down much like when I read Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand. It draws you in, making you believe it was real and it may have been real. Completely enjoyed!

★★★★★Best book I have read in a few years, June 10, 2014
By Dr. James Brenner - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Golden Pinnacle: A Historical Family Saga (The Durands' Story Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
​It is no coincidence that America had its most overwhelming success during the time of the "forgettable presidents", as is eloquently described in The Golden Pinnacle. Robert Gore brings the history of the 1860-1920 era alive through interactions with the fictional character banker Daniel Durand and his family. Anyone that enjoyed The Men Who Built America on the History Channel will be captivated by The Golden Pinnacle.


★★★★★An interesting and exciting journey through history., June 16, 2014

​​

By TFamily - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Golden Pinnacle: A Historical Family Saga (The Durands' Story Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Wow! I loved reading this book! I don't want to give too much away, but The Golden Pinnacle spans an amazing time period in American History, via the main character Daniel Durand, that doesn't get talked about anywhere near as much as it should. Is this even taught in schools anymore? Robert Gore's characters are vivid and bring to life many of America's early struggles and accomplishments that made the U.S. great. Golden Pinnacle is a lesson in politics, history, business, banking, capitalism (the free market), the federal reserve and, maybe most importantly, the importance of integrity among free men....which, these days, seems to be a thing of the past. I hope Robert Gore has more stories of the Durand family in store for us soon. :)

THE GOLDEN PINNACLE  

A HISTORICAL NOVEL

You Don't Know What You've Lost If You Don't Know What You Had 




From The Lake Oswego Monthly


Edwina Feeney

City of Bridges Realty

Recently Read:

The Golden Pinnacle, by Robert Gore


My LO Book Club (Reading Between the Wines), just read The Golden Pinnacle by Robert Gore. This is only the third book in FOUR years that every member awarded 5 stars! We were also fortunate to have Mr. Gore FaceTime with us for our review. He is extremely interesting and knowledgeable about banking, economy, and government. The Golden Pinnacle is a historical fiction of the Industrial Revolution spanning from the Civil War to WW1. The main character is Daniel Durand who was an orphan and became one of the wealthiest people in the banking industry. The novel weaves the characters of John Rockefeller, JP Morgan, Teddy Roosevelt and their policies set forth are still relevant today. A book you will not want to end. We impatiently await the sequel.


From Kirkus Reviews

A former soldier with a mysterious past and a dark secret rises to financial prominence in Gore’s lengthy novel.


Daniel Durand isn’t your typical wealthy banker. For one, he’s an orphan who, as a young man, enlisted as a Union soldier in the Civil War for lack of a promising future. Second, Daniel bears a hardheaded will and level of honesty his more affluent contemporaries find shocking. He’s the kind of socially disadvantaged guy no one doubts will succeed. At the end of his career in the service, Daniel is wounded, witnesses his best friend Will’s death and abets a runaway slave. These moments haunt Daniel forever, particularly the latter, a violent memory Daniel buries. After returning home to Cleveland, and at friend’s suggestion, Daniel doggedly pursues a career in banking. His persistence pays off, scoring him a clerk gig at one Mr. Haverford’s bank, where Daniel quickly advances. Eventually, he steals Haverford’s bank manager and potential client, John Rockefeller, to start his own successful bank. But when he also attracts Haverford’s stunning daughter, Eleanor, he begins making enemies, most notably sinister Archer Winfield, whose ruthless family seeks to disrupt Daniel’s plan, which includes marrying Eleanor and relocating his family and career to New York, where his secret finally resurfaces. Gore efficiently moves through history, expertly rendering the Civil War’s horrific chaos and the lively Industrial Revolution. The war section is particularly moving, not only for its stark descriptions of weary soldiers bearing corpses through bogs and munching on maggot-infested hardtack, but also for its saber-sharp criticism of war. “We’re fodder, Danny,” Will says. “Do you think Sherman, Grant, or Lincoln care? They never would have made it to where they are if they did. Their appreciation for what we face, for risking our lives, goes no further than their pompous speeches.” On the other hand, despite the novel’s heft, the prose sometimes feels rushed and, therefore, melodramatic, as when Daniel discovers Will facedown in Vicksburg: “He crawled toward the body as fast as he could, pulling his rifle with one hand, scraping his other hand and knees on the dirt. Please don’t be Will. He reached the body and turned him over. Will.” But for a novel this size, Gore keeps his sentences readable and the story moving, so the nearly 800 pages go by quickly.


A historical novel as grand and ambitious as the characters and eras it portrays.

★★★★★This is an excellent read!, ​August 13, 2014



By Brenda D. Shapard - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Golden Pinnacle (Paperback)
​I heard about this book on a forum dedicated to fans of the Atlas Shrugged trilogy (galtsgulchonline.com), otherwise it would have escaped me. I had other reading plans for the summer but I immediately ordered it from Amazon so I would have when I was ready. I say this because I took a little peep, abandoned a bio of Benjamin Franklin and was unable to stop reading until it was finished. A friend of mine once said that "we are eating our heritage" and meant that some of our predecessors in America had built something so great that future generations were living off of their efforts without putting back what they were taking, much less creating excess for future generations. This is what this book is about. Robert Gore has the knowledge and background to clearly describe the basis for the rise of American capitalism and its meaning to us and the world. Unfortunately, the forces to end of that magic period co-exist and are an important part of this fascinating story.Anyone that is interested in the period between the Civil War and 1913 when capitalism had its short run will like the message. Anyone that likes a story about strong family relationships, moral principles and strength of character will also like the story. I highly recommend it.

From ForeWord Clarion Reviews

​​One man’s rise from street urchin to multimillionaire sets off a tale of family drama filled with love, power, and revenge.


Sometimes business becomes personal. In this thoughtful historical saga, Robert Gore examines the transforming power of the Industrial Revolution as experienced through the life of one man who rides this wave of social change and even tries to harness or redirect it. Social and historical commentary undergirds this almost Dickensian story. And along the way, a history lesson is given on big banks, business monopolies, Wall Street, railroad tycoons, and economic policy decisions that impact us today.


When Daniel Durand, an orphan with no prospects or connections, leaves military service after sustaining an injury during the Civil War, he decides to become a banker. With a fighting nature developed on the streets and a keen mind that sees what others don’t, nothing will stop him from far exceeding that initial dream. He quickly rises to the top of the financial and business worlds, quietly ranked among the Rockefellers and Vanderbilts. But one doesn’t reach such heights without making a few enemies, and Durand has his share of those.


Generally well paced, this is a classic rise-to-power story with history successfully blended into the plot. The protagonist even directly participates in significant events, such as bank runs or key Civil War battles. The narrative is slowed slightly with some highly detailed investment strategy descriptions and some jumps in time, but both prove to be only minor distractions.


Characters in the novel are well crafted and three dimensional; sympathetic characters have flaws to match their strengths. Some historical bias is apparent in descriptions of certain key figures, as the author is unafraid to question the motives and character of people like Abraham Lincoln and John D. Rockefeller. Although Durand is almost too perfect, too prescient in his investment views and strategies, the story manages to stay believable.


The family drama is particularly realistic—an impossible-to-get-along-with in-law, a favorite child and an ignored child, a father who learns certain lessons too late. These are things almost every family can relate to in some way.


Under it all are messages about business, finance, and government that are surprisingly relevant today. No matter where one comes down on the issues raised, such as how much the government should control the economy, Gore’s book certainly provides fodder for thought. For readers interested in historical sagas or current economic events, there’s plenty to enjoy.


Diane Gardner